Science Fiction Environment to Late Night Diner Part 4

Your eyes don’t deceive you, I had to split the third part into a fourth part, as part three was and still too long, still is too long.

2nd January 2017

Texturing is going full steam ahead,  I don’t like showing half textured stuff early, it looks out of context and it looks sort of wrong, I will hold off from showing stuff yet until I have more of it to show.

Over the next few days of texturing and loads of texturing with more stuff will be textured, and I am finally happy to see that it’s coming together. however, I know that it will be a couple of iterations, I will go back over as some of the metal parts may be a little shiny so I may need to tone it down a little. Also, after the first pass will texturing, I will go back to the ones I started first and improve them.


3rd January 2017

More texturing, started on the clock part over the counter.

Outside view from Diner, not happy with the window frame, however, for now, I shall leave it and get back to it later as I should texture everything. Testing the wall and making sure it aligns correctly.

Looking closer at the window frame, it looks bad, I don’t like it, I have to go back. the colour is off too. I may add some trim to the frame.


The clock and counter top area with the menus, speedily getting there.

Slowly a Diner of some sorts is forming with all these assets, well, sort of, as all the assets are just in the environment and nothing special, I really need to up the game with modelling and texturing I am sure I will get there.
As the Colours in texture map are on separate layers, I can switch colour quickly.

Next day is going to sort out the interior wall of the diner texture and some alignment issues.

4th Jan 2017

Today was a day of trouble and problem solving, you see after I had fixed the alignment of the textures on the UVs of the meshed, a method I do not want to go through again and I would  just start from scratch, it took some time to fix and it didn’t help in any way when the meshes were exported, annoyingly  every time I exported the mesh, some of UV’s on mesh would jump back and had to fix again a couple of times. I was baffled and I had to get around the problem of UV’s moving, a bit of research and found the same problem others had, it was a bug when exporting the meshes as FBX format and the option: triangulate mesh option was ticked. So much grief with something so small, however, it was solved and fixed, I must I have never encountered that problem before, now I know it, I shall be aware of it.

The door frame needs another iteration, as this one looks a bit small and not bulky of the door frame, however, for now, I shall leave it and come back to it later.

Outside view and inside view, it is hard to see the seams and it is looking better now, more work to be done on it,  for now, I shall leave it and more on. The Window frame sizes have been reduced and that looks better, it also needs another iteration, but, I will come back to that later again like the door frame.

More to be done, it does look repetitive, however, it is the basic building block and once I have the other assets built, that repetitiveness will disappear.

A little disorientating to look at and it is a little plain. Next day of texturing should sort that out and needs a little more trim. I had to fix the size, as this one got away from the grid, a bit of amending and it was sorted out. A little bit more of texturing of the ceiling and messing around with lighting, kind of liking how it’s looking, still more to do, however seeing it makes me feel like it’s going to work.

Played around with the lighting to see how it looked, it’s getting there, I am happy, just more work on the project and it will get there.

Waaaay too much bloom on the bottom, I used too much bloom with the emissive map.

After fixing the meshes and doing more texturing, I am glad that the UV’s have been fixed and I can move on. My next step is to continue to texture tone done the realistic look to a cartoon look and go through some reference. I am going to try and steer clear of props and just focus one the building itself as there is much to do and doing props is just faffing around.

 

5th January 2016 

Doors and door frames, that was the focus of today, sadly my time was a little short due to other commitments. I wanted to get all three done, just got half done, grrr.

Doors shiny, yes, yes in know. I was getting annoyed with sharp edges on my models and wanted to keep the poly low for environment models. So I decided to use normal maps for edge trim and well, it has improved the model’s look considerably, giving it a bit of a nice fake edge. I will try and do that for all the environment assets and props.

There is something I have to be careful of and that is texture map space wastage, I need to make sure that I’m using the lowest amount of texture maps. All the textures are 1024 x1024 there are some at 512×512 and of push comes to shove, I can bring 1024×1024 down to 512×512. My main fear is big texture memory size, so I’m going to size try and keep to a texture memory budget no more than 150 meg, smaller would be good and be smart with my texture maps, I’m going to a try the RGB colour channels for materials.

Currently my 3d asset scene is sitting at 35 meg, some assets are duplicates there at some that are yet to be created mainly the outside red rocks mountains, I’m going to try and cheat with that and use one or two pieces that look different when rotated at different angles and as they will be distant in the scene I hope to get away with it and get away using with low-resolution textures.

So this is it, I have given myself a deadline, I have to finish texturing the environment at the end of January, that is my personal deadline and it has to be done, the core building has to be done inside and out.

All the assets will at least have one art pass over and some refine. I want to get everything textured. I must do three texture assets per day, that sounds a lot, however, my aim is to do the hard one first and leave the easier ones later, then in ten days time I should have at least thirty or more textured and done.

A nice little bloom effect with the emissive map combo.

7th January 2016

The first pass of doors and frames done and with Normal map trim, makes a difference.

Add trim to the Entrance door, and it makes a big improvement to the look.
Door one does not have the trim and the edges of doorframe look flat and sharp. Door two has the normal map trim added and gives the edges fake bevel and looking, the window frame now has trim and looks not as flat. Some of the UV’s are distorted on the windows. Fix later, as I got more work to do.

More work to be done,
Coffee mugs, exciting, isn’t it?. I had to start small and work my way up, build up the base colours of the mug. Then add the logo on top, for now, I shall move on to texturing other assets.

Sorted out the metal support struts for the sign that sits on the tower, I must word it more interestingly.

Side view of the tower and with the emissive side view glowing.

Front view of the building assets. Chunk by chunk the assets are being built and the props are getting there.

I am pretty happy how far it has come with the texturing and it is not complete yet. I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel with this project and I am happy with the progress of it now.

More texture, texture, texture tomorrow.

8th January 2016

Sunday my slow day and a day of rest, I didn’t do much, just textured Diners plates, saucers and cups, all first pass, I wanted to design labels. But I held off, I instead created the block out areas for the labels and placeholder text, with a bit of iteration I will hopefully have something interesting and good looking designs, that will be done after all the other stuff has been finished.

I think I need to do a triage list for which assets to textured first.

For the coming week I want to have fifteen textured objects, twelve would be good, and nine would be last resort. I want to meet my deadline for the end of the month. I really gotta stop with the smaller objects. I am going to finish all the roof objects,

Air vents variations, I think about four variations and the units they are attached too.

Extractor fans.

Electric Pole, that would be a bonus as the others electric poles would be done too.

Then next stuff to do is the kitchen and cookers,

The stuff behind the counter, like drinks freezer, milkshake maker, coffee maker. The cars, OMG, the cars, I got to about ten vehicles. I think I can cheat with them, as they share a lot of parts. So I may get away with that.

There are a few tweaks I want to do, like the Diner entrance doors, they are missing a couple of things, like handles and open and close sign, The toilet door having the toilet logo.

Anything I have to remember, I got loads of UV space that needs to be filled on some texture sheets, I do not want to waste them, so I got to use all the available space.

I can do this.

9th Jan 2016

Finished the last bit of texturing on plates and glass, well, the first part, finished off the milkshake glass.

Extractor fan / Exhaust fan

Ventilation system

Textured with Albedo, Roughness, Normal, Gloss, Still got a few more things to do with the surface of the models, however, I am happy with this, I should experiment with the surface of if the model and make it rough, it’s too smooth for me. There are a couple of areas of the props have stretched in some of the UV’s, for now, they are fine and I can get away with them and I am not going to worry about that as I have so much other stuff to texture.

Side not, I am getting faster and confident with texturing and understanding it more.

Next step, telephone pole and they are done. I think they are slightly too tall.

Just keep texturing, keep going.

I may end the week start building the environment in Marmoset. but I got that quota to fill up.

Here we go, imported another mesh and building aspects building part by part and checking them assets.

Moving around and placing objects is nice and fun, however, I have to resist the urge building and faffing around. My focus is to stay on the texturing and get it done.

Next to get textured are the assets in the Diner customer service area……oh dear, something went wrong and well, it seems I made a boo, boo, the air vent fans textures have been lost, well, I did it by copying from backup folder to the main folder, so I lost the textures for the air vents, normally I would be fuming and pretty pissed off, I could have lost more and maybe I have, I will do damage control on that, by the looks of it, I lost a little time, I’m just glad I didn’t lose the textures for the Telephone pole, I like what I’ve done so far with that one. Been a day three steps forward and one step forward.

For now, I am going to have tomorrow off and have a break, I don’t want to burn myself out, then resume the work on Wednesday.

12 Jan 2016

After a bit of a day off and a my machine not working properly, then again it was playing up today, I had to get it resolved and sorted, now, it has put me back a day……. dammit, losing a couple of textures didn’t help either , I got to get back on track.

Right, let’s see how we got ourselves back on track with the work.

Those air vents are done, again. They look plain and not shiny, I can assure you, it does have a shiny surface.

see, shiny, shiny. It didn’t take long to sort out the vents, I fixed the UV by reducing the stretching of the textures, that has made me happy.

These textured new ones look better, I want to tweak them further, however, for now, they are done and I can come back to them another time, right now, I got more texturing to do, time to move on.
Started on the drinks dispenser, the images are not mine and just wanted use placeholder art for the time being to help build the dispenser. As I was worked on I experimented with the textures, on the face of the male character in the background you can see his face a little too pale, on the roughness map, I painted a skull and skeleton, so when the light hits it you can see a glint., got me thinking.
If this diner is serving monsters and humans at the same time, why not have some monster things hidden among the ordinary stuff.

Quinch your thirst, I did, for now, it is just a placeholder, dammit!, I spelt quench wrong, I need to sort that out.

To me, it has slowly started to look like a game.These shots were at different intervals in the day, and I like the composition and lighting of them. Want to get the drink dispenser finished by creating my own art for it, to replace the images on the side, more monster cartoons.

Todays texturing was the Air vents redone, the chest of draws, preparation area and the wall vent. Which both are hidden, I will have to take a snapshot of those.

Ok, so I got two days left for to hit my quota, I’ve done nine in total, I have not counted the air vents twice, if I had not had the problem with PC, I probably would be on twelve. I got two days left, so I wish to produce eight textured items.

I want to work on the milkshake machine, coffee machine, coffee jug, drinks fridge, finish the drinks dispenser.

I got five there, it would be good to get them done by the end of tomorrow.

13th January 2016

Made a good start and here is the work in progress of the assets, from the Milkshake maker, the blood flavour dispenser and the coffee maker.

Here are the finished assets, pretty happy with them, got carried away with the milkshake maker.

Created placeholder labels for the drinks dispense machine. It was a cool start, Need to go somewhere with these drink labels perhaps make them scary sounding names, or monster related names. I will have to do some work on that and for now and replace the images on the side of the drinks dispenser.

I think creating the labels and other 2d artwork for games menus, framed pictures, diners branding, I am going to be able to bring the feel of my strong art style into the game and make it feel closer to the original game.

A total of twelve models have been textured, Past my minimum of nine and past twelve textured model, it looks like my target of fifteen is going to be doable by Saturday evening, I am not taking into account of my day off, as that was my rest day, however, if on the following day my PC behaved and threw my off that day, I think I would’ve hit fifteen today and with a day in hand I would have reached seventeen, however, I am going to achieve tomorrow’s target.

Tomorrow, I dive into finish more texturing and get three more models done, I am going to do the Drinks fridge, Diner shelves, tissue dispenser, any other stuff in the counter area that has to be done.  The, check the kitchen wall and perhaps change the colour of the kitchen floor. Right, let us get some rest and we shall be back the project tomorrow.

14th January 2016

Hit fifteen textured objects. Done the shelf the pot and the paper dispenser. A bit of scrappy day, started late, you know as it was Saturday, shopping was required, needed provisions and a walk. Checked the kitchen wall, I don’t need to do anything to it for now.

The paper dispenser is done. However, I’m not 100% happy with it, as the paper part of it looks bland, I will have to go back and do something, perhaps do the texture again or add a sheet of paper to it that’s hanging out. The shelf was quick texturing as I used up a bit of space left on the cabinet texture map.

The pot was not really finished, it was textured quickly and some of the materials was not fully set up. The model did not behave when exported as a Fbx model, the UV’s were messed up. Exported in Obj format, then imported it back into Maya, re-exported again as FBX and that resolved the UV issue. I would need to go back and work on it further, however, for now, I shall move on.

I did not do the drink fridge as there was an issue, the UV had not been finished, so on Monday, the first thing I’m going to do is finish the UV and texture that.

16th January 2017

I only have two weeks left to texture all of the environment eep!

Priority is Diner main area,

Kitchen,

Outside environment and vehicles.

Toilet

touch ups

My day full of fun actually had a good day, drinks fridge has been done. Had to sort out the UV and that is done and got the texturing started, all sorted now. I am happy with the fridge, that placeholder art is going to evolve into something.

Simple branding, watch this space and see this develop, I am going to have to fit this in while doing some down time from 3d modelling.

Vents, cake protector, cookie jar done. they are ok, however, I really do have to go back it to and rework them, as they do not seem to work, need to investigate a solution for better glass, it just looks way too transparent.

 

A view of the customers, just having a little fun with this shot.

Customers in the seating area test. I like.

  • Fridge freezer
  • Cake protector
  • Ceiling light
  • Air vent
  • Kitchen vent
  • Bottle smelly pop

Got through a good amount today, next on the list is that the Diner interior wall to do another pass over it. Going to do the pavement and exterior wall. I may do a rock. and Start texturing the Juke Box and a car

Now to some rest and some other bits to do.

17th January 2017

Here we go

Decided to start with the duke box, no the Juke box. I keep doing that. The jukebox needed more work on the UV. Now that’s done, base texturing has started. I want to get the texture for it done by tomorrow and start on one of the cars or interior diner wall updates.

18th December 2017

Redoing the UV Map forJukebox, I really didn’t like the first attempt.  The first image on left is where I left the Juke Box with the base colour.

Wanted to go back refine and especially fix the UV for the asset as it still annoyed me. After sorting out UV in image 2 I’m happier about that now.

When I was sorting out the emissive map the colour did not work for me. I experimented and inverted the colours. The result surprised me and I liked it and kept it.

Jukebox Looks lonely, now all I need it to do is to rain. Switching all the bloom effects and bells.

A couple of issues has crept in. One example is the inside of the Jukebox UV size is small and they won’t be much detail. Gutted about that, although as plain as it looks I can’t leave it like that, so its gradient time and try to make it look interesting.

I haven’t mentioned what software I have been using.

Maya 3d modelling

Photoshop textures

Quixel Ndo textures

Illustrator decals and logo

Marmoset viewer real-time preview

Xnormals baking maps

Next is the car tomorrow, I’m sure I can get that done by tomorrow. A morning sorting out the UV.

Once all has been textured, the next step is to pack them into channels and reduce memory size of the textures. It’s worth reading:

Easy Way to Pack Textures into RGB Channels

Worth reading for artists or anyone else is interested in.

19th Jan 2016

A bit of stressful day, I thought I had some sort of

Most of the morning was unwrapping the car. I totally forgot I had headus UV, what a silly plonker.

Started the base texture of car. Green or brown sir.

Then the stressful bit hit. My software detected a malware on my pc and it was emergency stations to get this resolved. After three hours and a few scans with different scanners and nothing was found. The initial detection found it and got rid of it, but, didn’t help me not freak out. Lol.

21 January 2017

Took a day off and fed squirrels in the park.

Now, back to texturing, worked on first saloon car and suitcases done, now onto the second car, got the station waggon textured and done another one in a different colour. Added some detail with Normal maps for, dents. I can see things I am not happy about, however, I have to remember that these cars are outside and not hero objects, just background objects.

Got the next car done, Unwrapping again, I forgot to use Headus UV….. I am really a silly chap.

The next car was unwrapped and kept the texture simple.

A bit of a moody shot, playing with Marmosets camera settings of focal and bloom effects and adding light.

Pretty happy I sorted out a couple of cars, the suitcases and the road barrier, which you can barely see, at the bottom o the last image. I think the first thing I am going to do tomorrow is external environment floor, the tarmac and pavement. I want to work on them. I have ten days to get all the textures done and some amendments….. This is going to be pretty tight.

What I got left are these.

  • Eleven pavement assets, that share one texture map. That would awesome to get all out the way and done in a couple of hours.
  • Two tarmac assets that share one texture. Be nice if I can get that done in less than an hour.
  • Twenty-one interior assets, ten of them share the same type of texture. If I can just bake the AO maps and just use the same texture maps already in use that would cut out a lot of time down.
  • Seven are the restroom assets. if time is running out, I will drop them, however, I shall endeavour to get them finished and will be done last out of all the objects.
  • Eight vehicles, sheesh. I got to do three vehicles per day. I may drop one or two to help me finish on time.

I have a tall order to finish this on time, the first thought is, I got to do five textured objects per day. If I can get the kitchen and pavement done in two days and if (I can finish them in a day, that would be a bonus) the asset count drops to twenty-eight. I then have to do three and a half textured asset per day, three hours per texture…Ok, let us do this.

22nd January 2016

Some news, the pavement textures have been done, asphalt has been done (minus one texture) and the grill and oven were done. Reds a bit too strong on the pavement texture, I need to tone it down. The asphalt is done, I may need to play around with it and break the repetitiveness and I think other assets and props will hide some of it, I may make additional asphalt textures.

The truck has been done, all those sorting out the UV and this time I used Headus. Still had to lay it out the UV for the truck and sorting out the UV took about an hour to cut and a flatten. When it comes to the next truck, I may have an easier time, as I need to change the top half and just focus texturing that part, as the bottom half of trucks are shared, some bits will be needed to be moved around and amended, that’s cool, because that will save time with unwrapping, laying-out and texturing.

The texture of the American truck, going to as much texturing done and normal map for a little more detail of bolts. I am going to stop here with it tonight, I have run out of steam tonight.

Today was eleven pavements one asphalt, one grill and oven combo and over half done truck of textures, that is about fourteen textures, well actually it’s four in total, as the pavement share one. together. I am happy about that. I have nine kitchen textures the end of tomorrow. I should have a chance to get them done by the end of tomorrow almost all bar one, the UV as not fully finished. I did a boo boo, it’s not nine, it’s ten!!

Ok, I can this, ten kitchen assets done by tomorrow and fully focus on interiors.

First of February is when I build the environment in Marmoset and I may need to re-export the models as grouped make my life easier and the pivot point is in the centre. Until then, I have so much to do.

23 Jan 2017

Ok, I didn’t hit ten, I did seven and fixed a texture of a previous one. The half has done truck, a car and leftover kitchen assets will be finished. Had I not done the truck, all the kitchen assets would have been done.

One of the textures of the kitchen assets screwed up when exporting as FBX. Had to do the Obj method. I need to read up about this, it’s odd that the UV gets corrupted, only happened to me twice.

I think I need to make the surfaces shinier, they don’t shiny, I think I’m being misled.

One thing I ran into was the kitchen assets colour changed from one object to another, to work around that, I reused the Photoshop file that was for all the kitchen assets as a template and it helps minimise colour changes. It was a bit of a pain at first, however, problems cropping up are not good, but, I see it as to keep you alert and aware when they creep up again and help find solutions quicker.

25th January 2017
Done the kitchen Assets, all sorted, except for the dishwasher, I modelled a dishwasher a while ago and it has disappeared, going to need to go back to the old save files to find it, or maybe not. Commercial kitchen stuff sometimes do not have any nice looking kitchen designs, well I am sure there are but I kept it simple. I am happy with the result of it.

The trucks first pass done and then the second truck was quicker to unwrap and get ready, as the base of the truck was shared between them. The trucks need to be shinier, more metalness needed, may play around with that later.

Back view of the trucks, there are details missing from them, that I wish I could do, however, it does not need to be high detail for this game, as the cars will be far away shots, I will need to add normal maps to them, to add bolts, seams, and dents.
Going to leave them for now as I have other assets to texture, I am happy with them, but for now, time is not my friend. Later on, I would like to come back to one of them as work on the model further and increase the poly count.

Currently, I have six cars, One bin, cake protector tray and lid, toilet room left to texture. the temptation is to do them in the next few days. I have five days left in total to texture the lot. I am going to spend a couple of days more finishing all the texturing and see where I am with it.

There definitely needs to be a second pass on the textures to add details and improve the quality.
Not to forget on the day off did some label design doodles. Next step is to choose a few and take them from doodles to illustrations.  I can say that I am happy with how it is looking.
Thirty-eight days spent on this so far, that is a long time. A few of those days were probably spent unwrapping, hehe, so much unwrapping.I think the environment took about five to seven days to build, props took ten to twelve days. Unwrapping another five to six days, texturing fourteen days, not bad.
One thing I should do is break my process down to environment modelling, build, texture at the same time. Then prop model after the environment has been built.
I seem to have mixed them up and flowed between them while doing LND, next time I build something, I need to keep track how long some of them take and work on one area at a time and not mix up props or environment modelling.
My previous sci-fi environment took five days to build, that was smaller and no props.

26th January 2017
I like the chalkboard, just having fun, still need to change the drink image placeholder to something of mine as that image is not mine.

Minor assets have been done today. I think I may need to make 3d models of cakes and sandwiches.  Chalkboard, sandwich box and something else. Hmmm, İ cannot remember what it was, ah, that was it, car parking bollards and a bin.

Look at the bin in all its glory, it’s lovely, sorted out the kitchen bin, a little bit shiny, shiny. I may have to reduce the roughness of the other textures for the kitchen assets as they are not really shiny.

Started work on one of the pickup trucks, I had to unwrap this properly as it was not done in the first place. Took a couple of hours sorting it out and laying it out while trying to maximise the space on UV.

Base texturing tonight on the truck, the aim is to get this finished by tomorrow late morning. I’m going to play smart with the second pickup truck, I’ll unwrap the bonnet and some parts of and reuse the first pickup truck mesh I modelled.

All the kitchen elements are done, they better be, so it’s full steam ahead to get the other assets textured and finished. I feel that I will have to go back over some of the textures of the models as the really will need a bit of final polish.

I want to give the counter another pass because I have improved and it was one of the first things I think I textured, plus also its right in the centre of the game.

I’ve lost an extractor fan model in my scene, how I’ve lost it, I have no idea. Going to have to get that back, thank me for gold practice for making iterative saves, I think these models like to run away sometimes. I must press on and do more work on this, but first, I must rest.

27th January 2017

It was a day of vehicles, trucks are and a mystery van mostly, my experiment with swapping parts of the truck and minimising extra UV work, actually worked, glad about that. Spent the day texturing and playing around with normal maps to give the vehicles extra detail that helps to bring the flat vehicles to life.

Truck with the Normal map, and without, It does make a difference in a tiny way.

Went into illustrator opened the texture for the truck, I drew vector white lines, I am quicker in illustrator with vectors then photoshop, dropped the created lines into photoshop and then in the Normal map texture use Quixel to create the indents. A bit of an odd way, won’t want to do that experiment again.

After doing the work, I made some mood shots, I couldn’t resist it.

This was the first one I did with the mood shots, honestly, I was playing around with settings in Marmoset and got a look going and decided to stick with it.
The next image is waaaay to pink overload. But I still like it.

I have to say, gloss, roughness and Normals map, make the simple models capture the light look real good.

A bit of wireframe in the shot, just testing and messing around with Marmoset, even at this stage it started to look really good.

And another moody shot, looking good.

After today’s session of work, I have three cars left, actually, I have two cars and a van left, I may drop on of them and spend the last of remaining time to work on the current models. The mystery waggon needs a bit more work on the texture. The good thing about the textures is that I can change the colour and got another colour for a car.

A slight thought I got a couple props that I may need to make and texture, firstly street light and the desert rocks and floor, also plant life.

Looking at what I’ve done and it’s not finished yet makes me feel good, I like what I’ve done and I’m impressed with myself, had a good start to the year and now I got to keep this momentum up and get my work finished and up for portfolio work, as I’ve said, this year I finish things.

30th January 2017

More modelling and texturing, some outside stuff. Cactus, looking flat I know, however, they will be distant objects, I got to create a few more outside stuff, like mountains, rocks and bushes. I may need to reduce the polycount further on the models and also make the bushes a plain instead of a model to further reduce polycount. At a distance they look ok, just at close up the don’t have the detail.

View of the road, some more work for the exterior, along with parking street lights and an extra car. For now, I must stop doing exterior and focus on the interior of the Diner.

Almost all the assets all done and laid out in the scene. Well not really a scene, however, a scene of assets. Some more view of the exterior, without the fog and playing around with the blur.

Ominous shot, playing around with the lighting, a little fun.

Last day of texturing tomorrow, so I got to get my textures in tomorrow and build on Wednesday. I fear I will not finish on time, I underestimated the time for the amount of work I had to do. Had too much for the amount of time I had and also lost a few days to my PC not working properly. However, I will build on Wednesday and evaluate from when I’ve built the set.

31st January 2017

The Grand Canyon rocks, a little bit erm, janky, they were all done in about a couple hours from texture to meshes, not exciting, the texture was created, then box modelled and then, shaped the rocks. need more hours of work so I can get them to look good. I have to remember that they are in the distance and I cannot over work them, also the game takes place mostly at night, there will also be daytime shots. I got to keep that in mind, not overwork, clean and looking good for distant objects.

Rocks 1

I am hoping that I can get away with the detail and that it does not look poor quality.

Rocks 2

Even more rocks, well same rocks in a different angle.

Today, had a little trouble, with some of the alignments of the verts on the assets, they were not aligned and left tiny gaps, troubleshot and tweaked the models took a bit of my day out, such a small thing can give you a headache…. just to keep this in mind, Stick to the grid when building.
Tomorrow I am going to fully rebuild the game environment and then after that is complete, assess what I need to work on to finish the environment off entirely, I love this project, but I do not want another month on this, if need to, then I will.

Made a moody shot, I got to stop doing these, as tempting as they are, I got work to do.

I am a little annoyed with myself, I was hoping this would be finished today, however, it is not, I know it is not the end of the world and cannot hold onto annoyance with myself about it. What I must do is press on forward to get the environment done.

As a mini post-mortem, it has been a learning curve, I know my limitations, I underestimated the texturing and unwrapping, the start of last week on the back of my mind was thinking I m not going to make this in time, even a couple of weeks ago, I thought, it was going to be tight, I should have gone with my gut instinct and,,, ahh, oh well, will avoid that mistake next time, I think with personal projects, you take too much care and trying to make it perfect, which is good, but counter-productive, as you get stuck faffing around and trying to make one little element good, when you should be looking at the whole environment and see how good it looks.

I am going to give myself this week to finish all of the work that I have left, I am dropping the toilet room and two cars as I do not have the time for them and I have other assets to finish off. This should be finished by Sunday evening, here we go.

A blast from the past, some things are the same some things are different.

1st February 2017 

Sick day, started to feel ill, I am ill, blugh. I started to build the environment and had to stop,

One tip, I should adhere to next time is to build and texture as I go, I have to rebuild the environment again…. Going to take a bit of time. I don’t like the ceiling colour, however, I will have to reassess after I have built the whole environment.

The Diner building is done, the next part is to place all the assets, in the scene, so tomorrow, that’s going to be the next thing to do, if I am better, I will do a full day tomorrow. However, I do not feel good, dammit, this may set me back a little I will try to power through.

February 7th 2016


Six days of sickness, still recovering. That good me good, what I thought was a cold, turned out to be the flu and I was down for the count, getting better, and I have returned to work and to get this finished, it shouldn’t have long, got slowed down by my software crashing, grrr, it looked like it was not ready to return back to work. More to be done tomorrow.

Sorted out the air vents on the roof of the building.

I’m happy with the look of the Diner, I still have my apprehensions with the interior, as the environment looked empty and bland, it felt like it was not going to work, I have to remember that I just started on the  interior, then after I added some props, it has started to work, It needs more tat to be added to the environment.

The next day or so is to keep building the environment up and have something I can share on the blog, still got a lot of stuff to sort out.

8th February 2017 

More work done, The diner looks considerably interesting. The counter is looking a little interesting. Still need to create cakes 😃 and clutter, that is a running theme. This shot is my favourite shot.

The friendly faces, again

It is starting to look like a Diner, it still needs more stuff, I think there are too many ceiling lights and perhaps a bit too low, still time to do more work.

The right part of the image below, the kitchen window area looks a little plan, I need to add stuff to the area, it needs diner related glowing stuff….. No idea what. The kitchen service needs some work and refinement, just looks empty.

The kitchen looks big and empty, however, a little bland, Thinking about it, it needs personality, I think it needs to be a library for all the recipe books from this world and beyond in space and dimension. Going to give a think about it.

Started to create posters and branding for the Diner, Got a few images to do, I wonder if I can get ten done tomorrow, they are small sizes, so nothing to big, going to try and spend thirty minutes to forty-five minutes on each one. I may need to do so some refinements on them, so its full focus this week.

I like to create some monster products for the game world, although, secretly, I am designing characters. 😃

9th February 2017


Pretty happy, done my poster run and labels run, I have twelve in total done and I like all. I was not expecting to have a fun day, I was expecting some frustration, however, it was a nice surprise with the logos. I sure I can do more work to them, if I had time, like a couple of days, I would.I got a few more images to do, about a two more, I would like to do, also, I wish to get the Quench drinks branding and Diner Branding done by the weekend.
The artwork shapes and labels created in illustrator. like illustrator, as I am quicker with the and it’s cleaner. Annoyingly, I also did a burger and drinks ad, I will need to refine some of it. 

Ok, we roll onwards with the next lot and I wish to get them into the game environment. I still need to do some generic artwork.

 

The whole thing is coming together and I am happy about that, I am at the last few hurdles and it just needs a little bit more work to finish the project, and that last bit of work is always the hardest. The artwork needs tweaking and little touches to make it look really good. I hope that the time I spent on it shows in the final piece through the modelling, texturing and building the environment. Having it look just good is not good enough, I really would like it to look good and be proud of it and that last ten percent is to make the difference.
I got to say, I  thought this project would be small and finished by now, man,  that is some understatement.  So much has been done on this and still more to do, I didn’t anticipate how much there is stuff to do. However, it does look better each passing day and it will look good when fully finished soon.
Will post again soon and not leave these stupid gaps.
Leave a Reply

