Innovation interactive story telling: Nasreddin Hodja or Moby Dick


Thinking


Over the last couple of weeks since my meeting,  I have had a thought of what project I have wanted to do for my Innovation Module Interactive Classics. The idea is to bring an old literature classic that is out of print and in the Public Domain into the modern age, using digital technology.  It is to bring classic books to life and still have a part in an age of the digital movement. One suggested book was Gargantuan and Pantagruel by Francis Rabelais. 
This got me thinking of what should I do, originally I was going to go with something to do with character designs, however I have already done something to do with that for my Honours year, I decided against it. Not that I already know everything about character design,  I have so much to learn and I had only touched the surface with it. But the idea of bringing classical literature in the modern age struck a chord with me and that got me thinking, really thinking of the books I have read, well some of them, have not read all the classic literature, as there are  too many and not enough time.  
I do like the idea of to bring a classic literature to life, the challenge I see is how to approach it and a couple of things sprang to mine,
  • Get the attention of the potential reader
  • Keep their attention on the book. 
I am sure other issues will pop up, but nothing springs to mind and I am sure they will come.But, for now, I want to get on with what literature to choose from that was out of print and that get the required research done to my satisfaction. 
Nasreddin Hodja
Nasreddin Hodja

 I Looked at classic literature and short stories, one that I first thought of was  Nasreddin Hodja, a thirteenth century Turkish man known for his stories of wit and trickery, that consists of about 350 Anecdotes and are all short stories, I remember being told about Nesreddin Hojda stories as a child for his anecdotes and had to think about them.  One book I found was The Turkish Jester, by Nasreddin Hodja translated by George Borrow, 1884. However, I am not sure if that is the right.

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/16244/16244-h/16244-h.htm

This would be perfect to try old short stories, however what I cannot clarify that it is in the public domain, the book has been translated in 1884 and is it safe.  I have to consider is how much of classic literature this is. It is something that has been around since the thirteenth century in Turkey and a few other middle eastern countries and still is popular today. However I would need to discuss this further with people. If it can be done and would it be considered classic by my other peers. I think I have to warrant a case for this.  I would be happy if I can do it, firstly , I need to skim read the book and see if it is the correct one. 

Moby Dick

Moby Dick – Rockwell Kent, Whale beneath the sea


The other option to fall back on to as I would like to do is Moby Dick or The Whale by Herman Melville, one of Americas great Novels.
A book I am familiar and have a personal interest, as I did it was a basis to a story basis for a story last year and it is a book I like.  I have to make sure that the book is in the public domain, I think it should be. However, I think it should not be is enough. Need to double check, if it can be done, I think, it is something that I am more eager to do. I can see it lending itself well  to being a classic interactive literature story to work as the book is good with countless films and illustrations lend itself to being appealed to. 
I shall be going away to for research and I will get back to you with information. 
Stuff to look at 

  1. Hande Birkalan-Gedik 2009, “Nasreddin Hoca ve 1555 Fikrasi. Kaynak Kitap”, Fabula, vol. 50, no. 3/4, pp. 326.
  2. Anonymous 2011, Hoca Nasreddin wins over children`s hearts, Asia Pulse Pty Ltd, Baku.
  3. Birkalan-Gedik, H. 2009, Nasreddin Hoca and His 1555 Anecdotes: A Source Book, WALTER DE GRUYTER & CO, BERLIN.
  4. Asilioglu, B. 2008, “The Educational Value of Nasreddin Hodja’s Anecdotes”, Children’s Literature in Education, vol. 39, no. 1, pp. 1-8.
  5. Translated from the Turkish By George Borrow 1884, Ipswich: W.Webber, Dial Lane 1884
Leave a Reply

